Blog Thinking

I spent the morning pretending to be a professional blogger.  I prepared last night by organizing my work space, making sure my “assignment” was in my inbox, and running my coffee pot through the dishwasher.  One of my closest friends from college started a digital marketing company and I sometimes help out when her workload becomes too much.  Today I wrote about how malls can monetize holiday displays a shopping center (TWITTER! INSTAGRAM! HOLLER!) by connecting to customers who are already sharing the displays on social media.  It wasn’t the most exciting topic for me, but I felt really accomplished at the end of it.  Plus, it felt good to experiment with something outside of my realm of comfort. 

Before break ended my students turned in their PSA assignments.  We watched them in class and students voted on the best one.  Throughout the day kids asked me if we would be doing another project like this, because they really liked it.  “Sure!” I told them, not really knowing exactly how that would happen for our argument writing/Lord of the Flies unit.  

I realized today that my marketing work  could also be used to capture my students interest.  What are they already doing and how can we use it in the classroom?  I knew (past tense, because I learned!) NOTHING about video editing before last Monday.  By the end of the day I had discovered fifteen apps and sites that edit videos.  I also watched on Wednesday as a student used Splice to instantly edit his group’s video.  I learned a ton from my students last week, and in turn they learned from each other. 

Their big project for LOTF will be an argument/counter-argument writing piece that will grow into a classroom courtroom.  As I sit here making the final changes to my unit I’m wondering what would happen if I asked students to choose a digital writing strategy that they found to be interesting.  I know it’s not the most innovative classroom strategy, but I think it continues my year of experimentation and my big question of “What happens if…”

 

1 thought on “Blog Thinking”

  1. What happens if students’ post-courtroom task is a reflective piece that they craft and publish using their choice of digital writing forums? I’m thinking about the entire genre of legal journalism by courtroom spectators who publish their own opinions about trials and evidence,even though (or perhaps because) they’re not part of the official jury.

Leave a Reply

